# **Monroe County Board of Commissioners**

# Minutes of the September 19, 2024

**Called Commissioners Meeting** 

9:00 A.M.

#### **Present:**

Greg Tapley, Chairman

Eddie Rowland, Vice-Chairman

Lamarcus Davis, District 1

John Ambrose, District 3

George Emami, District 4

### **Staff:**

Jim Hedges, County Manager

Richard Dumas, Public Information Officer

Janet Abbott, County Clerk

Lorri Robinson-Byrd, Finance Director/Asst. County Manager

### Welcome

Chairman Tapley welcomed everyone in attendance.

### **Prayer**

Chairman Tapley gave the invocation.

### Pledge

Chairman Tapley led the Pledge.

### **Roll Call**

County Clerk Janet Abbott called roll.

### Call to Order

Chairman Tapley called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

#### **New Business**

# **Approve Agenda**

Chairman Tapley presented the agenda for approval.

Commissioner Ambrose motioned to approve the agenda.

Commissioner Davis seconded the motion, and the motion passed 5-0.

# 2024 Millage Rate

Finance Director/Assistant County Manager Lorri Robinson-Byrd addressed the Board stating the Board had previously approved the 2024 millage rate at 10.803 at the August 23<sup>rd</sup> meeting, but the Georgia Department of Revenue had rejected the submission due to the advertisement being published in the wrong section of the Monroe County Reporter. Ms. Robinson-Byrd stated the requirement is for the ad to be published in a prominent section of the paper and not in the legal section.

Ms. Robinson-Byrd stated the ad was rerun in the September 11<sup>th</sup> Reporter and the Board needed to vote again to approve the millage rate presented.

Commissioner Ambrose motioned to approve the 2024 millage rate at 10.803 and to approve the Chairman to sign the resolution.

Commissioner Davis seconded the motion, and the motion carried 5-0.

### **Public Comments**

There were no public comments.

# **Commissioner' Comments**

There were no additional Commissioner comments.

#### **Executive Session-**

There was no executive session.

## **Action from Executive Session.**

There was no executive session therefore no action.

### Adjourn

Commissioner Davis motioned to adjourn at 9:05 a.m.

Commissioner Rowland seconded the motion, and the motion was carried 5-0.

Respectively Submitted by:	
Janet Abbott, County Clerk	