Monroe County Board of Commissioners

Minutes of the August 23, 2024

Called Commissioners Meeting

9:00 A.M.

Present:

Greg Tapley, Chairman

Eddie Rowland, Vice-Chairman

Lamarcus Davis, District 1

John Ambrose, District 3

George Emami, District 4-Not Present

Staff:

Natalie Sundeen, County Attorney

Jim Hedges, County Manager

Richard Dumas, Public Information Officer

Lorri Robinson-Byrd, Finance Director/Asst. County Manager

Welcome

Chairman Tapley welcomed everyone in attendance.

Prayer

Commissioner Rowland gave the invocation.

Pledge

Chairman Tapley led the Pledge.

Roll Call

County Clerk Janet Abbott called roll.

Call to Order

Chairman Tapley called the meeting to order at 9:00 A.M.

New Business

Approve Agenda

Chairman Tapley presented the agenda for approval.

Commissioner Davis motioned to approve the agenda as presented.

Commissioner Ambrose seconded the motion, and the motion passed 4-0.

2024 Millage Rate

Lorri Robinson-Byrd, Finance Director/Assistant County Manager presented the 2024 proposed millage rate and the resolution to set the millage rate to the Board for approval.

Summary:

- No Tax Increase
- 1.65% or \$307,054 Net Tax Decrease over CY2023
- Growth (Increase) in Real Property by 6.176%
- Millage Rate Equivalent of Reassessed Value of Real Property is .741
- Net Millage Rate for CY2024 is 10.803 vs. CY2023 of 12.004
- Net Taxes Levied for CY2024 is 18,252,734
- Current 2024 Property Tax Digest and 5-year history of Levy has been advertised in legal organ as required.

Ms. Robinson stated her request is for the Board to approve to set the millage rate for 2024 at 10.803 and to approve the resolution.

Commissioner Davis motioned to approve setting the 2024 millage rate at 10.803 and to approve the resolution and for the Chairman to sign.

Commissioner Ambrose seconded the motion, and the motion carried 4-0.

Public Comments

There was no public in attendance therefore no public comments.

Commissioner' Comments

Commissioner Lamarcus Davis

Commissioner Davis had no additional comments.

Commissioner Eddie Rowland

Commissioner Rowland stated he and Commissioner Davis were here from 6:30 am until 8:00 pm on Tuesday and they met with about 10 citizens and allow them to discuss one on one and not in a crowd some of their concerns.

Commissioner John Ambrose

Commissioner Ambrose had no additional comments.

Commissioner George Emami

Commissioner Emami was not present.

Chairman Greg Tapley

Chairman Tapley stated this mileage rate that we set today is the 7th year the millage rate was kept the same or lowered. He stated this is a culmination of having the right mentality and ability to bring in great people like Jim Hedges and Lorri Robinson-Byrd, and to not micromanage. Chairman Tapley stated it is a product of 8 years of each of us being here and doing this type of work for the community.

Executive Session

There was no executive session.

Action from Executive Session.

There was no executive session therefore no action.

Adjourn

Commissioner Ambrose motioned to adjourn at 9:11 a.m.

Commissioner Davis seconded the motion, and the motion was carried 4-0.

Respectively Submitted by:	
Janet Abbott, County Clerk	